What do you do outside of violin?

May 3, 2017 at 08:43 PM · Hi everyone! I'm curious about what sort of people are using this website. While our love/interest of the violin (or viola) brought us together. I can't help but wonder how many people are here that have a completely different life (not a professional violinist/violist, luthier, etc.) I'm interested. Below are a few questions to start of:

1) Are you a professional violinist or is your main source of living related to a string instrument? If not what do you do?

2) Do you get paid to do work (perform) that involves the instrument? (i.e. gigs? Orchestra?)

3) Have you performed for anyone aside from yourself and your teacher? If not, do you plan to?

For me, I play the violin more for fun. I'm an accountant in the morning and a struggling violin student at night. :) I have never performed publicly but in the future I would like to play with and for others when I get better.

Cheers!

Replies (39)

May 3, 2017 at 09:32 PM · I'm an emergency physician by night, amateur violinist by other nights. By day, I sleep.

I have few performance opportunities right now. I've played on a few recitals with my son, who is in Suzuki book 5, and I spent a few months with a community orchestra. I hope to have more opportunities as I improve.

May 3, 2017 at 10:07 PM · Now, 27 yeas after retiring from employment, and 10 years after ending my self employment, all my outside activities are music related or volunteering for local Friends of the Library activities. If you want to know more see me here:

http://www.violinist.com/directory/bio.cfm?member=AndrewVictor

If you happen to be in the San Francisco Bay Area we are going to have a spectacular Lucas Valley Chamber Orchestra ALL MOZART concert at the Christ Presbyterian Church in the Terra Linda area of San Rafael, CA this Sunday at 4pm. All are welcome - no charge. We usually fill the hall so come early!