Beginner Needing Help Judging Quality Of Violin (Audio)

May 1, 2017 at 05:59 PM · I'm just starting out learning the violin and was browsing around looking for a suitable instrument. I had my eye on the following violin:

Audio of the violin playing

Very new to this, so I'm not entirely sure what to look out for when listening to the violin. Any advice? How would you rate the quality of this violin?

Replies

May 1, 2017 at 08:38 PM · Listen for clarity of passages (fast notes distinctiveness and clear sound), response (violin instantly responds when shaping different colours and types of sound), and variety of said tone colours and dynamics.

In the clip of Schindler's List, you can hear that the player had some trouble and delay in getting the sound they wanted, even though the tone is fairly good. For example, the vibrato required some extra effort to respond adequately, and you can hear it when they vibrate notes. Also an issue is that the violin seems a bit muffled, usually a sign that it will have troublw playing quiet passages without undue effort.

I would overall rate the instrument 7/10, most of the score being the rather soothing sound, despite issues with clarity, dynamics and responsiveness.

All in all, very enjoyable for the first few years, until the players starts something slow and expressive in shadings like Melodie by Gluck, where you will really start to appreciate the clarity of pp passages and the responsiveness needed for a more.effortless fast trill. :)

May 1, 2017 at 09:03 PM · This violin is pretty good. Didn't notice the issues A. O. pointed out, but if I played the violin, I may've noticed.

May 2, 2017 at 12:44 AM · Though, the vibrato might just be the odd sound aesthetic of the player, but I do hear the instrument fighting the player somewhat (maybe just incompatible player-instrument reducing expressive potential?)