Finding Energy to Practice (as a teacher)

April 21, 2017 at 06:51 AM · As some of you may know, I recently went to my first lesson in like 10 years, but I'm actually an instructor myself with about 45 students.

I told myself that in order to validate lessons with a good instructor, I must dedicate 2-3 hours of practice per day (about 50% scales/etudes and 50% pieces).

After just a week of this, I found myself EXHAUSTED. Not a matter of willpower anymore, but a matter of "I literally cannot sustain this level of effort on top of the 45 students I already have." I teach until 9PM usually, and some of my days start as early as 10:30AM. There are spaces and breaks in there, but I usually have to use them to do things necessary for living, such as eating.

Do any other instructors have this issue? How have you dealt with it? Or, have you simply resigned yourself to staying roughly where you are, skill-wise? Perhaps you've dedicated less time per day, like an hour? (I personally feel like an hour is just a warm-up, though, especially when I feel the need to do massive amounts of scales)

I know 45 students only gives me about 25 hours of work during the week (not including administrative duties, advertising, and other miscellaneous business things), but by the end of each teaching day I am just totally drained, and throwing in sufficient practice before or after that amount of teaching just doesn't feel sustainable at all.

Replies (31)

April 21, 2017 at 09:59 AM · Im in no position to teach anyone about violins, but i know something about procrastination, and one way to find more effort for practice is to think positively.

"I told myself that in order to validate lessons with a good instructor, I must dedicate 2-3 hours of practice per day"