Lopsided technical abilities

April 14, 2017 at 12:22 AM · I'm a Junior in high school, and I've been playing for a little over two years. I'm currently 3rd chair in my school's large string orchestra and a violinist in an intermediate/advanced quartet with NCCMI. I learn fairly quickly, so I've been able to play in those groups without many issues, but I feel like my technique is rather lopsided as a result of having skipped over so much repertoire. For example, I can comfortably play up to 9th position and I'm comfortable with ricochet bowing, but my colle sounds terrible and I still frequently hit the wrong strings in fast passages.

Right now I'm working on the Rieding Am and Gluck Melodie, and I finished the Bach Am and Bach Double before them. The Gluck feels significantly easier to me than any of those pieces, and I know that's not the norm. Most of the time in my private lesson is spent on repertoire right now since my migraines have reduced my available practice time quite a bit. I'd like to double major in computer science and music in college, but I'm not sure what the acceptable playing level for that is at the schools I might go to (MIT, CMU, Georgia Tech/NCSU as fallbacks), and I'm worried I might not be able to both play the repertoire required well and fill in all the technical gaps I have to avoid wasting time in lessons later on (I don't know what most of them are, to be honest). Does anyone know what that level would be, or how I could quickly identify and fix my problems? Thanks

Replies (37)

April 14, 2017 at 01:07 AM · I also have (VERY) lopsided technique, as a consequence of lots of talent combined with a few more basic issues that my former teachers could not really address.

My strategy: Work consistently through 3-4 etudes every practice day, aiming to finish them to 90ish% polish in 7-10 days.