Best sounding E String?

April 5, 2017 at 02:03 PM · Hi all. I am new to the violin world but not to music. My main instrument is piano.

I have been playing my real wood Menzel violin for a month now and have already broken my E string once. I am sensitive to the way an instrument sounds and the tone. I find my E String very high pitched and sratchy and hard to listen to.

Can anyone recommend a Synthetic core string that will help it sound warmer?

Any and all advice much appreciated.

Replies (29)

April 5, 2017 at 02:56 PM · There are no E strings with a synthetic core, that I am aware of. They are all metal or metal/wound.

Try the Warchal Amber E. It has a helical spiral that makes it unique in the timbre department.

I also like the Hill E and the Gold Label E.

April 5, 2017 at 03:46 PM · Thank you for the suggestions, still learning the right terms for everything.

April 5, 2017 at 04:20 PM · Or, use a pure-gut E, which is what they used before the metal E was invented (and kept) for convenience (the gut E is much nicer and sounds organic and soft).

April 5, 2017 at 04:48 PM · I don't know if you would use a plain gut E with non-gut GDA. Any steel E should be okay.

April 5, 2017 at 07:20 PM · I like the GoldBrokat E string

April 5, 2017 at 07:29 PM · And, put an inexpensive passive ear plug in your left ear, that will reduce the volume of top two octaves (about 5000-20000 Hz) coming off the top plate, only three inches from your ear. The thin gauge, lower tension Goldbrokat E might sound better. jq

April 5, 2017 at 09:11 PM · Thanks for all advice.

I am going to start with a non gut string from Dominant first and see how that goes. May have to eventually upgrade to a gut string. We will see how it goes.