Adult Beginner Progress

March 24, 2017 at 11:20 PM · I've been playing for three years. I went up to the middle of Suzuki Book 5, and recently I started to play solo Bach (third double from Partita 1, and allemande from Partita 2). I thought my progress was ok until I found this woman who plays Chopin at one year and three months, and Tchaikovsky at one year and five months. Oh, and no one-on-one classes, who needs that? Check also her Meditaion and allemande.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=sdjMQagNxM4

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=F4Pa0Tx6KRA

Replies

March 25, 2017 at 12:48 AM · Progress depends on a multitude of factors including your teacher's approach, personal learning style, and more. Your progress seems great.

March 25, 2017 at 05:29 AM · Dexter, it also not only depends on the resources you use (teacher, youtube etc.), buz also on what you might call the paedagogic approach. I don't think the person on the video really got the basics done that she'd need to play what she's playing, so I'd guess her paedagogic approach is mainly "missing". My teacher would never get me along with what I've heard. He'd say something like, well, nice, but now let's move back to work... And give me some less advances pieces and etudes to work on. I'd say this lady sounds like me when I try to play something too high above my level what I have to train like some circus artistry... Nothing you can solidly build on.

Don't worry, take your time, and trust your teacher and yourself.

March 25, 2017 at 06:24 AM · Dexter, surely you don't envy the person who's playing Chopin on a violin this badly? Both her bow arm and her intonation leave a lot to be desired, which is only natural if you've just started. Noone can be expected to perform tough music (and of course Chopin is not even written for the violin!) well after fifteen months.