Would you recommend Suzuki as a teaching style for an adult beginner?

March 13, 2017 at 06:03 AM · Hey all,

Going through the rather involved process of trying to settle on my first teacher. I'm a total beginner in my late twenties. I have absolutely no experience with music or instruments (aside from a brief stint with the guitar in my early teens).

I think I've narrowed it down to a couple teachers and they all proclaim to utilize different styles. As a complete beginner, it's hard for me to really decipher which one would be best for me, especially for an adult beginner. I'd love to hear your guys' take on it

- One teacher utilizes Suzuki

- One teacher utilizes this:

"My method is one that has been passed down from teacher to student from Joseph Joachim to Karl Klingler to Alice Schoenfeld. . . My personal approach is to find the most efficient motions to solve technical problems."

- And the last just says they use

"traditional methods which involve note reading from the very first lesson"

I should mention that the end game goal is not to be a concert soloist. What I'd like to be able to do is be able to play proficiently enough to have fun playing some music I enjoy. Classical, film/television scores, maybe some folk at some point, possibly electronic/pop. I basically just want a solid foundation so I can go forward and experiment with different genres for fun. *Maybe* at some point play with other string players but not in a professional setting. However, that being said, I want to jump into this 100% with both feet and while I know violin is an extremely difficult instrument to learn, I'm hoping with the right teacher and dedicated practice on my end that I'll be able to progress more quickly.

So ya, any input or advice you guys could offer would be great! Thanks so much! Really excited to start lessons soon!

Replies (22)