should I learn a second instrument?

February 8, 2017 at 07:22 PM · Hey guys! I've been playing the violin for 12 years, which was since i was 4. I really enjoy the violin, but I'm wondering if I should learn a new instrument on the side. I have kind of played the piano but I never really enjoyed it so I quit. I was thinking of learning the flute or clarinet because they always fascinated me. Is it worth learning a second instrument?

Replies (28)

February 8, 2017 at 07:59 PM · Go ahead. I don't see why not.

February 8, 2017 at 08:24 PM · It's very fun to learn additional instruments once you've acquired a degree of proficiency on your primary.

I started violin at six, clarinet at eleven, and have never stopped. Now when my clarinet students study the Mozart, Weber, and Brahms Quintets, I can lead the string quartet that plays with them, or play them with my string students with me on clarinet. :)

February 8, 2017 at 08:39 PM · If you can handle the extra weight and awkward position, learning viola seems to be the most logical extension. If you want to do some creative musical work, I think the piano is the better option.

February 8, 2017 at 10:46 PM · If I had to learn another instrument like seriously, that would be the piano, that's the king of the instruments!

But hey, if I had extra time, I would learn oboe/clarinet and the french horn, my God, those instruments are incredible. Oh, and the bassoon, the bassoon is great too.

If you're a violinist, learning viola does not seem exciting (jokes aside hahahaha). I mean, I know many, many violinists learn to play (or already know how to) the viola, but it's pretty much the same. I would go for something different, at least if it has to be a quartet instrument, let it be the cello. But come on, we're bored of the strings, no more strings, bring me some tornado (wind).

The last instrument I would learn would be probably the triangle. I hate triangles, as much as I hate trigonometry. Lol.