What piece did you aspire to play when you started?

February 2, 2017 at 03:34 PM · For the most part, when we've started to play the violin there were one or two pieces we may have aspired to play in the future and work towards. Whether it was Canon in D, or some Lindsay Stirling piece for a new violinist, what piece did you aspire to play and why?

Once you got there how did you feel? Did you feel like you mastered the instrument, or did your aspirations change?

Replies (48)

February 2, 2017 at 03:37 PM · Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto.

Later, when I discovered I was very good at learning despite starting at 18, I upped the end goal to Paganini's God Save the King Variations.

February 2, 2017 at 03:56 PM · Twinkle. LOL. I was five.

February 2, 2017 at 04:18 PM · :) Thanks Mary Ellen (such a babe!)

February 2, 2017 at 04:42 PM · I had pretty much never heard a violin before I started playing. But since I was in a Suzuki program, I quickly got to see what other kids were playing, and what I really aspired to was the Bach Double, which looked like a huge amount of fun. (My Suzuki program did that schtick where you get the kids playing it in a big group, and they swap the kids between the parts on the fly by touching their shoulders, etc.)

Much, much later, I wanted to play the Mendelssohn. After that, I had no idea.

February 2, 2017 at 05:04 PM · My first piece, in 1939, was "Twinkle." (long before Suzuki in the USA). My teacher told me that when I learned to play it right he would give me the little jeweled matchbox cover on one of his side tables. Well--I did, and he did.

Years later my father told me he would be taking me to see Heifetz play the Beethoven Concerto with the Baltimore Symphony for my 16th birthday - so I worked on that for the preceding 6 months so I could really enjoy the concert - and I did - and for long afterwards too. I can still visualize the experience, over 65 years later. (Unfortunately, I can no longer play it.)