FIRST RECITAL DILEMMA

January 23, 2017 at 02:52 AM · Hi! I'm an adult beginner in violin, I started learning 5 months ago and I'm half way finishing Suzuki Book 1. Last Saturday my teacher asked me if I can join the recital but she is still deciding what piece I will play. But she specifically mentioned, Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. When I told my mom about the recital and the piece, she laughed at me. Can I ask my violin teacher not to join the recital until I learn more difficult pieces or should I go for it but request another piece rather than the twinkle twinkle? Right now I can play the all the pieces up until perpetual motion in Suzuki Book 1. Help! I feel like a fool too because I am 24 years old yet I have to play a nursery rhyme in a recital.

Replies (28)

January 23, 2017 at 03:14 AM · I understand how you feel; I am a senior student who got the same request: learn a piece for the teacher's student recital. I said I would learn a piece, but have no desire whatsoever to participate in the recital. The teacher understood, and there was no further discussion. When I was a kid, I did many piano recitals, but now I don't want to go thru that again. Your teacher certainly won't give you a hard time, but it would be a nice gesture to attend and congratulate the kids!

January 23, 2017 at 04:51 AM · Any piece that you have *polished* and *memorized* already (not in the future) is recital-ready. Which of the pieces that you have prepared so far are in this category? Determine which of those you want to perform and demonstrate it for your teacher. Remember, though, everything gets harder when you're with an accompanist (especially if that's a new experience for you) and when you're on stage with all those eyes looking at you.

If you are performing in a recital with a lot of small children, don't worry. I always tell myself that if there weren't children who could play circles around me, classical music would have no future.