Am I Ready for the Sibelius Violin Concerto?

January 19, 2017 at 07:50 AM · Hello everybody,

I'm a junior in high school. Recently, I finished the first movement of Prokofiev's Violin Concerto in D Major (less commonly played than the G Minor Concerto) and am currently learning the second movement, the Scherzo, "for the sake of learning". But my teacher proposed the Sibelius concerto, the Mendelssohn concerto, and the Barber concerto (if I didn't want a hard concerto). I was really surprised when he proposed the Sibelius concerto because I never thought I would be able to play it before I graduated high school. It is so technically challenging and beautiful but it is daunting nonetheless. I am just wondering whether I am ready to take on the Sibelius concerto and if not, are there any other options that work with my repertoire progression. If I were to play the Sibelius Violin Concerto, I would really want to play it well and with high quality and not poorly so if you don't think I am ready, I will not be offended at all, I am simply just wondering whether I am ready to play this piece of music beautifully and with quality.

Here are some of the pieces that I have recently played:

-Violin Concerto in A Minor No. 22, First Movement (Viotti)

-Tambourine Chinoise (Kreisler)

-Symphonie Espagnol, First and Fifth Movement (Lalo)

-Violin Concerto in G Minor, First and Third Movement (Bruch)

-Violin Concerto in D Major, First Movement and learning the Second Movement (Prokofiev)

Replies (57)

January 19, 2017 at 10:37 AM · I would tend to think, that if you feel that strangers online who have never heard you know better than your teacher, then switching teachers may be in order, if at all possible.

January 19, 2017 at 01:23 PM · What they just said above!

January 19, 2017 at 02:40 PM · This is a discussion you should be having with your teacher.