Canadians Traveling to Europe with Violin

January 10, 2017 at 09:33 PM · Hello, I did a little bit of research in regards to traveling to Europe, because i will be in the summer for work/school for up to 3 months. The following things I am trying to explore:

0. I was able to get CITES certificate because the nut, crown on heel and saddle of my violin may be made of ivory. I was never successful in checking if the parts are ivory, but I was able to get CITES certificate as discussed here: http://www.violinist.com/discussion/response.cfm?ID=27167

1. Getting on board the airplane from Canada. Laurie Niles gave us a very helpful blog: http://www.violinist.com/blog/laurie/20146/15941/ which I find very helpful, but I am wondering if there is a Canadian version for this. It would be a nice addition to this forum if someone has already explored and wish to share their information.

2. I am a graduate student, and I am traveling to Switzerland, France, Germany and UK for my research part of my studies. I am required to get traveling insurance with someone such as Blue Cross for health insurance, which I am partially covered along with Veterans Affairs Canada, but what is not covered is my violin. I would like to shop around for insurance on my violin, if you have specific recommendations please feel free to share here. I am most afraid of the violin getting stolen.

3. Boarding the airplane back to Canada. Similar to point 1, except not bound by Canadian Flight laws. I would like recommendations and pointers at the right direction to ensure that I can return with my violin intact.

Replies (32)

January 10, 2017 at 09:58 PM · Hi,