Learn violin or oboe? If you could choose freely...?

December 31, 2016 at 03:35 PM · New year greeting to all members of violinst.com

Dear members, I am a student studying in a European country, now 19 years old.

Recently I have a chance to choose one instrument to learn, one is violin, another is oboe, however I have no time to learn both of them at the same time, for I have to deal with my studies (I want to take PhD courses in the future), as a result only ONE instrument could I choose to learn.

I myself as well as my parents wanted me to choose violin, because we think that: firstly there are more violin teachers here; secondly,a 4/4 violin for beginner is not expensive (my homeland is China where violins with reasonable price are available, and my relatives could buy one and send it for me ); thirdly, I've been loved string instrument when I was young, but had no chance to learn(because my parents wanted me to concentrate on study, and to study math, physics, foreign languages...in order to go to a better school), as I am adult now my parents don't care about my study, thus allow me doing what I like..

However, I've also heard about that it is not good for adult like me to learn violin, in my hometown if an adult wants to learn violin, it is discouraged, because people always consider that violin is one instrument difficult (or most difficult) to master, thus one should start from a very early age (3 to 6 yrs old), if one becomes adult, his or her mind as well as flexibility is limited, thus adult could not master it well, and people also think that it is impossible for adult to learn Classical pieces composed by Mozart, Vivaldi, Sarasate, Paganini...So should I choose?