What is YOUR main stay violin string sets?

December 31, 2016 at 03:35 PM · Just a foreword, I wish to make sure that I am intending this thread for people to mention what strings they like to use currently, not to turn into a debate on which strings are good and/or better.

I am finding that I am constantly learning that there's a new set of strings I've never tried, and I am yet to finalize on what string to stick with.

I will start with that my mainstay set used to be Infeld Red, since Canadian economy turned $40Cdn/set to ~$100 Cdn/set, I have been looking at alternatives. I've been trying all potential candidate of "Lowest costing, longest lasting, tolerable sounding(dark) set". As a grad student, I cannot afford very much until I get to my Post Doc stage.

Since then I've tried all Warchal violin strings, Pirastro Chromcor, Dominants, D'addrio Pro Arte High tension, Obligato, and Tonica is next up on the experiment, if I don't like Pro Arte by next week.

I am seeking a mainstay mostly because I am finding that each string has different thickness, and my bridge seems to be well suited for some, but not so much for some, which means, I'll have to ask my luthier to fit the current or a new bridge to fit the "mainstay" strings well.

Replies (55)

December 31, 2016 at 03:58 PM · I've been using Infeld Reds; I tried alternatives, but went back to Reds as there is NO substitute for this particular string.

December 31, 2016 at 04:42 PM · Pirastro Chorda, with either a Chorda E or an Obligato Gold E.

December 31, 2016 at 04:53 PM · Pure gut (whatever is available), with wound gut G, with E being gut if I have $, or heavy goldbrokat if I don't. :)

December 31, 2016 at 05:09 PM · Tonicas : they sound good, last a long time, do not need breaking in, and you do not have to sell a kidney to buy a full set.

December 31, 2016 at 05:16 PM · I really prefer the Passiones, but have been sticking with the Vision Titanium Orchestras for the tuning stability.