Vibrato - Rolling or Flattening Finger

December 14, 2016 at 02:10 AM · I'm working on my vibrato. This video talks about ROLLING the finger on the fingerboard to create the wrist vibrato.

https://youtu.be/Jp_2Enm-aAI

(please watch at 6:43min mark)

I've heard that another method is to bend and FLATTEN the finger for correct vibrato.

I do find this rolling method easier, especially when i bend my left elbow more inwardly to my body.

Which is correct? Or both are acceptable, depending on personal preferences? ROLLING is for wrist vibrato and FLATTENING is for arm vibrato?

Replies (22)

December 14, 2016 at 02:40 AM · I am no expert for giving advice, but I never seen any vibrato instruction that was clear about the actual motion. I don't think that it is one or the other but a combination of both in varying degree depending on the finger used. Unless the fingers are directly parallel to the string (which is physically impossible), "flattening only" would produce less of a tonal change as the angle of the finger to the string increases and the size of the finger decreases. As I see it, the degree of rolling (i.e. side motion parallel to the string) increases as the fingers are more at an angle to the string (e.g. 4th finger). As you roll the finger, it also flattens as typically seen sideways from the finger. This view often shown in instruction videos I think is deceiving as it hides the rolling motion that must occur at the same time.

December 14, 2016 at 05:36 AM · I don't particularly like this portion of the tutorial, because the person demonstrating doesn't consistently return to the same pitch after rolling away.

December 14, 2016 at 06:10 AM · For some reason it helped me to hear the purpose of the vibrato desribed as 'flattening the note' by my instructor. I know that doesn't specifically relate to the mechanics of the vibrato, but for me I think it helps to remember it's purpose. Does the method used to achieve the purpose really matter that much?