Using 70% isopropyl alcohol prep pads for cleaning synthetic core and steel strings

December 13, 2016 at 06:54 PM · Is this a good idea. I have D'Addario Helicore on one violin and Pirastro Tonica on another.

Replies (43)

December 13, 2016 at 07:06 PM · When I was a Nurse, I used these for cleaning the strings. The rosin may clump since it is not soluble in the other 30%, and that makes a bit of a mess.

Also, Isopropyl will dissolve your varnish, so hold the violin upside down and keep it there until ALL of the alcohol has evaporated. All it takes is one drop to make a mess. Further, if you should get a drop on the varnish, blow on it to increase the speed of evaporation. DO NOT try to wipe it off.

December 13, 2016 at 08:10 PM · The best alcoholic string cleaner is that one the player NEVER USES.

Accidents occur all the time and you may ruin your varnish, that will cost you a mint in varnish restoration.

In one case the player put the instrument over a rag embedded in alcohol, the damage was horrible.

The alcohol will penetrate the string and it may damage them too.

December 13, 2016 at 08:36 PM · Just wipe the strings every time you finish playing with a soft cotton cloth, and you won't ever have to resort to substances that could damage the varnish.

A little bit of preventative maintenance goes a long way!

December 13, 2016 at 09:17 PM · I agree with Manfio.

The best string cleaner/instrument polish is the one that you never use.

December 13, 2016 at 09:31 PM · I guess accidents can happen, but I frequently use Isopropyl Alcohol to wipe chinrest, tailpiece, fingerboard, strings and the unvarnished neck once a while, then I apply tiny bit of olive oil to fingerboard and the neck.

For strings, I pinch the strings and slide the cloth(pad in your case) all the way back and forth from nut to bridge.