A Shout Out To...

December 10, 2016 at 07:58 AM · Laurie Niles - I'm so glad to find a forum where people are generally very well mannered, where so much great info can be found on the subject of violins, and where so many great & interesting discussions can take place. The blog feature is also very nice. Your front page articles are also very interesting and so enjoyable. Thank you so much.

Andrew Victor - I have to say that I really enjoy reading your contributions to this forum. Your comments are always very thoughtful and enlightening. As a new violin student I've also found that hearing your experiences has been very helpful.

To everyone - I'd like to hear about the people who's contributions to this site you really appreciate. Please share.

Replies (35)

December 10, 2016 at 03:23 PM · Good to hear that Buri is still here.

December 10, 2016 at 06:35 PM · Yes Leif, this is a wonderful site for learning about violins. The best luthiers in the world offer their tips and suggestions to people's questions as well the best players from around the world give advice on practice and technique. I would like to mention names but it would be such a huge list. I am so appreciative of the help freely given here, I wish that I had this resource available to me as a kid.

December 10, 2016 at 11:06 PM · Thank you, Leif, and I'd have to give a shout out to everyone who makes it possible, with both their curiosity and their expertise!

December 11, 2016 at 12:06 AM · It is a wonderful site for us violinists (and for us violists as well). However, Leif, how you will feel after a full-out rumble over the issue of whether you should or should not use a shoulder rest remains to be seen. in the meantime, welcome to the nice world that Laurie offers us all.

December 11, 2016 at 02:56 AM · You're right about Andrew -- he's a rare treasure.

I've been to other string-player sites (for cello and bass) and they're not nearly as user-friendly as v.com.