Are the Hill bows genuine or fake? Please help!

December 3, 2016 at 01:54 AM · Dear knowledgeable violinists, I am an amateur and can only afford $2000 for a nice bow! To be able to acquire a Hill bow is my dream. Though I know it's risky to buy on eBay, the price is much lower than shop price.

Please help me identify the following eBay Hill bows which are at my affordable budgets!

Questions:

1. Genuine or copy

2. Maker?

3. Year of make?

4. Which would be less risky to buy if both priced at $2000?

The first bow is marked H27 and the 2nd one marked F on frogs

Replies (24)

December 3, 2016 at 02:16 AM · Sorry! This is my first post and I couldn't post the links properly! Here again: The first one title is: Hills and Sons Violin Bow needs repair underfrog marking H27

http://m.ebay.com/itm/252648682857?_mwBanner=1

The second bow title: Original W. E. HILL & SONS violin bow silver mounted rare Antique soloist c1930 https://www.ebay.com/itm/222329779862

December 3, 2016 at 02:50 AM · you're best chance to be ripped off is to buy such on ebay

December 3, 2016 at 02:52 AM · If they knew their bow was real they wouldn't be selling it for much less on ebay, would they???

December 3, 2016 at 03:47 AM · Hmm. What problems are you having with your current bow, and what qualities are you looking for in a replacement other than the brand name Hill? A bow branded Hill that you've never tried or even seen might or might not be an improvement, whether 'genuine' or not. Advice: get out and try some bows.