After Mozart's Concerto No. 4?

November 6, 2016 at 05:49 AM · I'm currently a sophomore in high school, and I'm looking for a concerto to prepare for the state solo competition. My teacher and I have just about wrapped up learning Mozart's Concerto in D Major, and I'm to choose between Mendelssohn's E Minor, Bruch's G Minor, and Wieniawski's D Minor (which I think is out of the question at the moment, as the difficulty is too high.)

Which of these major concerti would you suggest I prepare for state? What major concerto did YOU learn after your Mozart concerto?

To give you some background knowledge, I'm currently working on Kreutzer with some experience in Rode etudes.

Thanks.

Replies (24)

November 6, 2016 at 06:48 AM · Technically Bruch G minor is easiest of the three and most "seductive", borrowing Joachim's word. Listen to them all, have a look at the music and take your pick. Good luck.

November 6, 2016 at 12:38 PM · Joseph Joachim had a suggestion: see http://conquest.imslp.info/files/imglnks/usimg/e/ea/IMSLP29621-PMLP66450-3.pdf

November 6, 2016 at 01:14 PM · Bruch. It's the easiest of the three and also has the shortest first movement.

November 6, 2016 at 02:10 PM · Far be it from me to argue against Mary Ellen's experience. My only thought is that it might depend on how much time you have to prepare. My guess is that there are more likely to be other competitors who are able to play Bruch well, more than there are who can play Mendelssohn well (or Mozart 4 well, for that matter).

November 6, 2016 at 02:44 PM · You'll probably get a lot of advice -- some of it possibly conflicting; but the fact is that your teacher knows you and your playing better than we can. Did your teacher suggest -- or even hint -- one of the three as best suited to you at this point? I would hope so.

So I won't tell you what to do but will tell my own personal experience. For me, after Mozart, Bruch was next.