Violins by Florian Leonhard

November 2, 2016 at 05:52 PM · Hello everyone,

I'm an advanced student who is seeking a fine instrument but have found no success with local violin shops. My range can go up to $25,000 or £23,000 depending where am I getting my instrument but my optimal price range is below $15K. I heard about violins by Florian Leonhard, who sponsors the Yehudi Menuhin International Violin competition for Young Violinists has bench copy violins that are made from authentic fine italians. Does anyone know anything about that maker?

If anyone knows anything about his violins and the price range, feel free to reply in the comments below. Much appreciated!

Replies (30)

November 2, 2016 at 06:06 PM · If you can buy a new violin made from authentic fine old Italians, by all means do so, unfortunately I think you're really just getting a copy!!

November 2, 2016 at 06:32 PM · My only concern right now is the price range and the quality. I really don't care if it is a copy.

November 2, 2016 at 06:46 PM · I was just trying to be funny, you said a violin made from fine Italians, instead of a violin copied from fine Italians he had had on his bench.

November 2, 2016 at 07:39 PM · Oh haha. I appreciate your sense of humor.

November 2, 2016 at 07:47 PM · My Australian humour can be a little dry!!

November 2, 2016 at 07:59 PM · Yes, your humor is quite dry. Back to the topic. I just did some research on the maker, and you have to make an appointment to try and buy a violin from him. I was feeling like his instruments are going to be priced way over $40k after thinking about it for awhile, given there are few testimonials on the bench copy instruments, and all of them are relatively well-known professionals, so it might not be in my interest to get an instrument from him.