Essential Elements for Strings or String Builder for a total beginner

October 25, 2016 at 01:28 AM · Hi Everyone

I'm hoping people who have experience with both of these books could give some insight into their thoughts on which is better to start off with for a self learning adult beginner. I am totally new to violin. I need a relatively structured book that will guide me through progress. I've heard good things about both series and not too much bad about either. I've read essential elements is more for classrooms and kids (I'm not exactly sure what that means although some have complained about that). I have been leaning towards String Builder. I don't want to be going between two books as I just want to follow along with one book and move up. I will be working out of suzuki books too but I heard they move faster through concepts and there aren't many practice pieces. Please tell me your thoughts. thank you!

Replies (32)

October 25, 2016 at 02:37 AM · I highly recommend you find a good teacher of adult beginners and go with the method s/he uses. You can use any method book, but the book only shows you the notes to play; in order to do any of the book's exercises correctly, you need an experienced teacher to demonstrate HOW to do the exercises, and to CORRECT your mistakes of right and left hand position, arm motion, and/or intonation. I will eat my words and recommend you go it alone if you can go through just ONE lesson (in Essential Elements or String Builder or Suzuki) without a single correction from your teacher. :)

October 25, 2016 at 04:28 AM · These books were designed for use in late elementary school and junior high group string classes. I wouldn't advise using them to begin playing independently.

If you absolutely must though, check out New Directions for Strings, which does an excellent job with the presentation of posture, setup, bow hold and left hand tetrachords.