Getting frustrated while playing the violin

July 30, 2016 at 07:11 PM · Lately, I started spending more time practicing the violin. I started practicing slower, and just overall concentrating more. This has made me recognize all of the mistakes that I routinely make, and helped me see a lot of flaws that I did not notice before.

Sometimes, I get very frustrated with the lack of progress, or just not being able to progress fast enough. Often times, I would go through a passage/scale, record it, listen to all of the out of tune notes, then mark them and fix them.

A week later, it suddenly appears like I have made a lot of progress, and that that I've fixed my intonation problems. Thus, I would work on other things(phrasing,dynamics ...etc).

However, if I'm not careful enough while practicing, problems with intonation would creep up again, and I would have to go back to slow practice...it just seems like a never ending cycle. Every time I make a mistake, I seem to take two steps back.

I've found that it only really takes 5-6 well placed slightly out of tune notes to really ruin a piece, or to ruin my interpretation. I know that it's important to be patient, but does anyone have any mental hacks to just deal with frustration? Today, in particular, I feel like my confidence is shot, and I feel like I'm a horrible violinist. It sucks that I have some off days where I sounded much better a week ago than I do today. It almost seems like the more you practice, the worse you get! I know this is not true, and it's just a mental illusion, but there are some days where I truly believe these things.