50yo returned to violin 4 yrs now after 23 year hiatus - advice...

July 15, 2016 at 03:02 PM · Hi. I am a 50yo returned to violin 4 yrs now after a 23 year hiatus seeking advice regarding my next steps forward.

Can anyone suggest a particular music program or specific high quality violin teacher/instructor in NYC area that is geared toward an adult violinist who plays like a freshman music student of 19 with commensurate experience but is now 50. I have an aged bachelors degree in another field paid for long ago with a music scholarship.

Thank you.

Replies (80)

July 15, 2016 at 03:55 PM · It depends on the kind of repertoire you want to play.

July 15, 2016 at 04:26 PM · Something to keep in mind is that if what you posted in your bio and other threads is correct -- you were at Bruch concerto level before -- you're not equivalent to a typical 19-year-old conservatory student today. The level of playing has changed dramatically in the past 25 years.

You're still at a level where you need a good teacher for advanced students, though. For starters, Raphael Klayman, one of the posters here on v.com, teaches adults in the NYC area.

Good luck with your hunt!

July 15, 2016 at 04:34 PM · A clarifying quetion: In the other thread that you posted in, the context was specifically about becoming a professional-level player. Are you trying to career-switch, or just trying to become a better amateur?

July 15, 2016 at 08:42 PM · Lydia, I think you may be confusing the OP of this thread with the OP of the other thread...they are two different people.

July 15, 2016 at 08:53 PM · The OP of this thread posted near the bottom of that other thread and said their situation was similar to the OP of that thread. Thus my question. :-)