Harsh sounding B note on A string.

July 4, 2016 at 06:08 AM · Hello everyone. I appreciate the help yet again. I have been playing violin for almost 4 months. I am having a very hard time playing B notes on the A string. They sound very harsh when using fast long bows. I do not have this issue with my first finger down on any other string just with the A string. I have tried more pressure which causes a crunchy sound. I have tried less pressure which causes squeaking or high pitched shrills. Even when I play the note slowly is just doesn't sound right. The violin is in tune. I just don't understand why I can't get anything close to an appeasing sound from the B on the a string. I am not sure how to explain the tone but it just seems off like something is wrong. My tuner will say it is in key while I am bowing but it still feels wrong. Do you guys have any advice of what I can do to try improve the sound of this note?

Replies (32)

July 4, 2016 at 07:41 AM · Some violins have this problem - even pretty good ones. You may need to have the violin set up changed, or try other A strings, or just live with it. (It could be of course the way you are bowing on the A string, but we can't tell on a forum).

July 4, 2016 at 07:53 AM · Yeah a video would help to diagnose the problem.

July 4, 2016 at 08:06 AM · It's a problem with B. In my firm opinion, B does not really exist as a distinct entity, it is merely there to maintain consistency in interval naming, to fill in a space between A and C.

Some violins resent this more than others.