Do you love practicing?

June 28, 2016 at 04:14 AM · I was just curious as to how people at different levels feel about practice time. I'm a beginner, about 7 months in, and I love practicing. Sometimes I'd rather do other things, but I always enjoy once I start. For new players, practicing is all we have for our playing time.

How about other beginners? What about experienced players? Do you still enjoy your practice time?

Replies (45)

June 28, 2016 at 04:52 AM · I think I am a little bit past the beginner's stage, but I'll tell you this.

When I (re)started playing violin, of course, without a teacher, it was frustrating, and a very slow process. I also refrained from using the mute, because it muted all of the mistakes I was making, and also I had a $100 Palatino VSO.

I did not quite enjoy the practices themselves, but I enjoyed the fact that I was progressing with it.

I practiced about once a week.

After a few months, I found and returned to the violin I had when I was 9 years old. It was bearable, but dull sounding violin. The practice became somewhat enjoyable.

I practiced about twice a week.

After 3 years in, I moved up to an $800 old German violin, best I could find in that price range and I started enjoying practices.

I practiced everyday.

after 3.5 years in, I moved up to my current, a $2800 contemporary violin. It's by far the best sounding violin that came in contact with my hands. I really love the sound of it, and when I am not focused at work, playing the violin is all that I can think about, and I practice about twice a day, 2 hour sessions, sometimes I skip sleeping entirely to play it.

At this point, the only thing that keeps me from practicing is injuries and work.

June 28, 2016 at 06:29 AM · I really enjoyed reading that, Steve.

June 28, 2016 at 08:41 AM · Me too!