Violin String Suggestions

June 27, 2016 at 02:06 PM · Hello everyone!

I'm new to the site, but not to the violin! I have 15 years of experience, though I have only experienced two string types, Dominants, and Helicores. This upcoming school year, I will be participating in my university's string ensemble, and I'm looking for a good replacement.

I have three violins, but the particular instrument I'd like to change has a very beautiful warm, viola-like G and D. The Dominants just aren't cutting it on that end of the spectrum. It also has a very loud, but (with the Dominants) lifeless E. In short, Dominants don't seem to provide a balanced sound, nor do they take full advantage of the beauty of this violin's range. As far as Helicores, they just seem a bit too harsh for my musical tastes. I really love the deepness of this instrument. In fact, none of my violins are overly bright.

I have been reading on this site and others, and I know that the two most common responses to this question are 1) every violin reacts differently, and 2) ask your luthier. Let it be known that in the area I live, the last reputable luthier passed away this past year. Needless to say, I no longer have access to his wealth of knowledge and skills.

So, I humbly come to you for your expert suggestions. I should also include that I live in the Deep South of the US. The climate is wild and the humidity is wilder. In addition to playing in the string ensemble, I also play several weddings a year. I would like strings that are versatile enough for each setting.

Tall order, I know, but thanks in advance for your suggestions!

Replies (53)

June 27, 2016 at 02:19 PM · Have you asked your teacher or even a reasonably skilled friend to play your violin for you? Or is your experience limited to how your violin sounds under your ear? The reason I ask is because some "harshness" under the ear is to be expected. Your violin will sound very different from a distance of six feet (or sixty).