Viola, what's that?

June 17, 2016 at 04:22 PM · Hello, I have been playing violins continuously for the past 4 years, and previously I did play piano for a few years when I was 7, I was at the level performing in junior competitions in 1999. Personally, I hated playing the piano, and always wanted to go for a violin(I was unaware of viola back then). I just wanted an instrument that allowed me to play more than limited number of keys, the perfect solution was a string instrument. I ended up playing a violin for one year during my childhood(and then I quit until 4 years ago, because as a 9 year old, with constant discouragement from family doesn't develop well).

I also quit playing the piano, and moved onto Alto Sax.

I did get to learn the "conventional" or common string family way back in middle school, I became viola-aware but it never stuck to my head until I got to play a viola. The first time I got to hold a viola was at my luthier's workshop late last year. I even briefly owned a 16" viola for a week.

I really enjoyed the experience but, It wasn't exactly my cup of tea, possibly because I am used to a violin, and I had a lower-end viola. If an opportunity arises, I might get another viola.

Nowdays,I joke with the ladies, "If you want me to be serious with you(in terms of romance), you must play viola, and we must perform a duet". The response I get from that in ALL occasions was, "viola what's that?".

Even if I look around in local orchestra, it seems that the viola players are in higher demand than violinists. Even more so than Cellists. Even in local ads, violas go so much faster than violins.

In short violas and violists are "unique", "hot" object and people in demand.

I'm a little bit curious, why are violas so less common. Why are people less aware of viola than violins?

Also, when was your first encounter with a viola and a violist?

Replies (66)

June 17, 2016 at 06:57 PM · Well, this already sounds like another viola joke.