What should I work on in my second year of learning the violin?

June 6, 2016 at 10:38 PM · Hello everybody, I have posted twice before on this forum to ask for tips about my violin playing. The tips were of great help! Now I daily visit this website and enjoy reading the posts. I don't comment much because I'm a beginner and what useful could I say? :-)

But I wanted to ask for feedback again if that's OK. I've been playing for one year now and I'm more excited every day. I just LOVE the violin!!

I wanted to share my progress video here to show you what I've learned in my first year and what things I focus on. I have no private lessons, but I'm very serious about learning the violin, so I do appreciate all help! I also wanted to make this video because I've been reading a lot about people thinking they're too old to start to learn to play the violin. I don't think age matters much. I think it can be a lot of fun to learn the violin at any age.

https://youtu.be/3X1sR6gm4P8

For my second year I'm planning to start shifting. According to this post http://www.violinist.com/blog/stein4strings/20163/17420/, I've decided to start learning 2nd and 3rd position at the same time. After that I have no clear idea of how I'll go on with the positions...

Also, I want to improve my vibrato. I've only started with wrist vibrato so far and would like to start learning arm vibrato this year.

Further I'm planning on studying Suzuki Book 3 and continue with the Wohlfahrt, Pracht and Sitt etudes.

I notice, especially in the last part of my video that maybe my left thumb is not positioned correctly? I had placed my thumb more under the violin neck to be able to use my fourth finger more easily. But now I'm wondering if that is correct. It looks a bit weird. Should I try to correct my thumb or is it OK like this?

I welcome all suggestions as to what you recommend me that I could/should work on in my second year.

Thanks so much!

Replies (25)