Looking at the fingerboard

May 20, 2016 at 02:37 PM · I've seen a few violinist before who seemingly never look at the fingerboard when playing (ones that I like). Instead they appear to have everything ingrained in muscle memory (also these people seem to be the most comfortable ones when playing). I've been playing for two years and I've been asking myself quite a lot of different questions. Is it ultimately a desirable goal to play the instrument pretty much blindly? How would one achieve such status and is it necessary? I consinder myself a very visual person, which memorises a score very quickly and I always look at the fingerboard. Thoughts?

Replies (67)

May 20, 2016 at 02:43 PM · It takes along time to build the muscle memory to be able to play without looking. Give it time.

May 20, 2016 at 02:49 PM · if you have to look at the left fingers, it's too late. many play blindly, or keep their eye on the soundpoint instead of the fingers

May 20, 2016 at 03:41 PM · I look at the fingers only to double-check momentarily on questions of hand form and position -- generally when learning new material. It should get to be like what I’m doing right now in typing this: Keep the hands on the keyboard but don’t look at the hands. Keep your eyes on the copy -- or, in this case, keep your mind on the text you intend to write.

I ran into a problem, some years back, of the bow hairs intermittently contacting adjacent strings when I was playing scales and arpeggios on one string. I knew the scale and arpeggio patterns from memory, so I didn’t have to look at the sheet music. But with no sheet music, I found that I was looking at my left fingers instead. I next found that looking straight ahead, not at the fingers, just being aware of the bow angle and bow travel via side vision, took care of the problem.