Violin-/->Firewood, I mean Viola

March 10, 2016 at 07:23 PM · Hello,

I have been playing violins for over 3 years now. I am at Suzuki vol 4, whilst learning other individual pieces out of interest.

Due to my greed, I ended up getting a $2800 violin(it's a big sum for a full time student in a non-music degree). I believe that it will be a violin that I will hold onto at least for the rest of my life.

Now, the problem is that this is too precious, I have trouble carrying it anywhere other than in my hands indoors to play it. For that reason, this winter, I barely got any practice done. Nearing the end of the winter, I found a cheap 16" viola in local ad and bought it last night. I had the most fun for the year yet playing/cleaning it.

Here's what I've noticed:

1. I need to stretch my fingers to get the right notes. This is helping me to gain better flexibility in my left hand.

2. It gives me a heck of a hard time staying in tune, because the spacings are all different, it's making me to do a tremendous amount of shifts and ear training.

3. I'm ATTACKING the viola with my heaviest violin bow. This is giving me heck a lot of confidence in bowing my violin. It also came with a viola bow, but I like using my Yitamusic heavy snakewood violin bow.

4. It's no violin, it's a different animal. Responsiveness is much slower than my Socia(violin).

5. The harmonics seem extremely easier.

6. C string is addictive to play with.

For some reason, while I bought this viola for $180, it sounds and feel like something worth a lot more. Other than A string not being tamed(I shall see my luthier about moving the soundpost), and I'm having a lot of fun.