Is Salut d'Amour easy for adult starters?

February 9, 2016 at 05:40 AM · I'm an adult beginner. Self learnner.

I would like to play Salut d'Amour. How can I play the tune?

What ways do you recommend to play the tune?

These days, I'm practicing some easy tunes. Like, "London Bridge Is Falling Down" or "My Favorite Things."

How do you think? The best way is continuing easy tunes practice more?

Or try to play Salut d'Amour directly?

For example, start to practice from easy part of the tune, or some arrangement of it?

(Sorry for my no good English. I'm also a beginner of English language)

(Oh, this is my first post at Violinist.com)

(Nice to meet you)

Naba :)

P.S.

I'm not good at sight reading too, yet. So, I can't read by solmization, if there are many (three or four?) "#" or "b".

Replies (26)

February 9, 2016 at 06:02 AM · https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXLOF-z5Zlk

But here is the "simplified" version, Mr. Saenger's:

http://imslp.org/wiki/Salut_d'amour,_Op.12_(Elgar,_Edward)#For_Violin_and_Simplified_Piano_.28Saenger.29

Be patient, and work out your skills with a good teacher. Would be very nice if you tackle the "simplified" version, and the in the future play the standard version as you keep advancing. Best of luck on your musical journey.

February 9, 2016 at 09:52 AM · The "simplified" version is a sort of early intermediate piece, but it still isn't a beginner piece.

While it can all be played in 1st position, there is still a lot of string crossing within slurs, and a lot of accidentals resulting in stretched hand positions (low 1st fingers adjacent to high 3rd fingers).

I would definitely suggest getting a teacher. But if for some reason that isn't possible, I suggest continuing to learn with whatever method you're using now until you reach these techniques, and *then* have a go at Salut d'Amour