Ever use your case as a battering ram?

February 1, 2016 at 07:07 AM · Hello all,

So as a college student, I take the bus/train to and from school. As I am sure you all are aware people are very rude. So to make a long story short have any of you ever used your case as a battering ram to defend yourself against rude people who are trying to shove you off the bus and or trian?

Replies (24)

February 1, 2016 at 02:04 PM · No, but a boogie board served a similar purpose on the London tube for me whilst on the way home from a sea-side holiday.

February 1, 2016 at 02:54 PM · I can oknly picture that encounter. Made me laugh pretty hard.

February 1, 2016 at 03:03 PM · I carry a viola.

People simply stay far away from me, as if I were a leper.

February 1, 2016 at 03:22 PM · Pretty silly since viola-playing isn't contagious...

February 1, 2016 at 04:27 PM · No, I have not... and have no intention to do so. Unless you have a VSO or a carbon fibre instrument, you have more to lose, than gain.

February 1, 2016 at 04:42 PM · My case is a fiberglass and a thick padded material combination. The violin hardly moves while inside of it. And haha if a viola player was a contagious diseaseI would have been a viola player a long time ago! I live with two of them!

February 1, 2016 at 05:29 PM · Once, some guy pushed me on the subway to get to a seat I was about to take. No biggie. Until he kept hitting me feet while I was standing there... If it was crowded, I'd understand but it wasn't. The man was pretty aggressive. Everybody was watching. He leaned forward as my stop came to. I turned and accidentally knocked him in the face. When I turned around to see what I'd hit, I saw him leaning back with a bloodied nose. Karma can be a B****.

February 1, 2016 at 05:33 PM · Aha, another reason to have a carbon fiber violin - violin as weapon!