Help: My teacher thinks I'm not ready for paganini caprice 24

January 27, 2016 at 07:00 AM · I've been doing the violin for 7 years. I'm 14 and on week days I practice 5-9 (4 hours). Then I do my homework for school. My teacher is a really good teacher. Hes a bit of a perfectionist (we stay on a piece for a very long time) One day, I saw the Paganini caprice 24, I printed it out and I showed it to him. He said it was too difficult. I told him if he worked step by step with me, then it won't be very difficult. He refused. I printed out an easier version of the caprice, and I played it in no time. He said do it slowly. Couple days later, I mastered it. Then, I decide to print out caprice 16, presumably the easiest caprice. He still refused to teach me. He told me he mastered the caprice 16. I went home on a weekend and practice the caprice 24 by myself. I slowed down the speed of the second part on youtube and I played it slowly step by step for 2 hours and then I played scales for rest of my practice time. Eventually I played it really fast, so fast that I started making mistakes. Then I slowed down a bit and the slurred staccato was a piece of cake! This was all done in about 1 week, and I'm still perfecting it. Then I moved on to the 3rd part, a little challenging and at full speed it can be frustrating. But, I did the same with that and I am still perfecting it. I wanted to play the double stop on the g string and d string but I needed to do scales before I did that. So I asked my teacher if he could teach the scale. He said ok, but asked why, I told him, I was inspired by Heifetz or something like that but anyways he accepted and taught me it. I was playing the double stops, it was hard I admit, I played it slowly, and getting it intone is difficult. Plus, that certain area goes extremely high and making it sound it tune requires a lot of skill. My dad said he is going to find a different teacher soon I hope. Should I find a new teacher, is my current teacher no