And once again: Carbon Bows

January 12, 2016 at 03:35 PM · And once again...

I know that there have been a couple of threads already regarding carbon bows, but I still need some information!

Background: I'm a professional violinist, currently in South America, and my orchestra is to play a lot of contemporary music this year, so I decided to get myself a carbon bow for that. I might use it also for the "normal" productions in the pit (that would actually be the best).

Now, here I can't get my hands on good bows (or only for ridiculous prices), so unfortunately there's no way of trying them - which means, I'll have to buy online (some friends of mine will be traveling here in February and they can bring the bow with them).

My budget unfortunately is somewhat limited, meaning I can't spend much more than 1000$.

So far, I've been looking at these options:

Arcus M3

CodaBow DIAMOND GX

JonPaul Avanti

Has anyone by chance tried them all and can give me some comparison? Or has another suggestion? That would be REALLY appreciated!

Thank you very much!

Kind regards

Anna

Replies (24)

January 12, 2016 at 04:00 PM · Hi Anna,

I have a Coda Diamond GX which I like a lot. I took a chance and purchased it via mail order without trying it out. I think it is a good bow for the money.

January 12, 2016 at 04:18 PM · The JonPaul Avanti is a wonderful bow! I use it for all my pit and outdoor playing. I prefer the response and tone quality to the other models of similar cost I have tried, including the CodaBow.

Also should mention there's a nifty product from Iesta, a carbon fiber bow with a pernambuco veneer. It has a bit more warmth and punch than the others (which are more clear sounding).

January 12, 2016 at 04:51 PM · When I was shopping for a carbon fiber bow, I tried about twenty, including all the different coda bows.