Rebuilding a Foundation for an Advanced Player?

December 25, 2012 at 09:05 PM · I have been playing the violin for around 6 years now, and am worried about my foundation and technique. I've mainly been learning all of the techniques from the pieces I've been playing, and none of them are very strong. The only real book I use is the Kreutzer, and I'm only on #12 right now. I rarely practice any scales and occasionally play some Bach. How should I start working on my technique?

UPDATE: Sorry, this was my first post, and I think I left out a lot of important details.

1. I have a teacher, and he is instructing me with the materials above.

2. Regarding my level, I can only tell you the things that I have played. I've done almost all of Wohlfahrt, and working on Kreutzer #12, and my most recent piece was Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso. I am currently working on the first movement of the Mendelssohn.

3. I think I might have over-exaggerated in my post since I was pretty anxious at the time. I only want some guidelines on how to solidify my technique.

4. As for changing teachers, I have always considered that an option. However, I have a relatively close relationship with my teacher, and would probably "split" lessons if I had to change instructors.

Replies (21)

December 25, 2012 at 10:04 PM · "How should I start working on my technique?"

By getting professional lessons. Honestly, that is the best answer I can possibly give you.

December 25, 2012 at 11:03 PM · That teacher will help get you into a practice strategy that involves practicing scales and basics (including etudes) to develop a technical and musical foundation to interpret works of music.

December 26, 2012 at 08:57 AM · Teacher, scales, etudes. In that order. Learning technique from pieces is inefficient and incomplete.