Warchal strings

December 19, 2012 at 07:29 PM · I'm considering trying Warchal brilliant strings, I've tried many different sets of strings on my violin but nothing beats Peter Infeld strings for me. But the only brand I haven't tried is Warchal, and I'm sort of itching just to find out what they're like.

Where I am, I've never seen or known anyone use them, are they good strings? As a music college student, I can't afford to try all the strings I want! I'm sure many of you feel this pain :P

Also very insterested in the Warchal russian style A... anyone have any info/opinions?

Replies (30)

December 19, 2012 at 09:56 PM · The Karneol sets especially their ver. 2 are excellent for the cost. For around $28 you get a set of violin strings with a lot of warmth and richness in the sound. The initial ones I tried (different color winding for each string at the tailpiece) didn't last very long, maybe a month and a half of playing 4+ hours a day. The newer ones (same color winding at the tailpiece, all strings) have made it about two months and haven't lost too much of their sound.

The viola set is good for the price (~$39), especially for the wound A. The D and G strings are quite good for the middle register, although the C isn't quite as big sounding as Obligato or Larsen.

Overall, the Karneol line offers a very good "bang for the buck." I usually use Obligato, but have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of Warchal's product.

December 19, 2012 at 10:12 PM · I have an older instrument, and the Warchal vintage brilliants (not to be confused with the Warchal brilliants, which are made for newer instruments) have been great.

December 19, 2012 at 10:15 PM · I am testing a hand made 2003 violin with Warchal brilliant strings. My impression that the instrument lacks response, precision and resonance. Not sure if it is due to the strings or the instrument itself. Since the instrument is not mine, I will not bother to spend $ on another set of strings.