Theories. Need it or not need it??

November 28, 2012 at 07:29 PM · Hi, I am Joanne from Indonesia. I started playing the violin actually rather late (around my college time). Here's the problem. Now that I have got this teacher who only teaches me mostly repertoire (he once told me that theories won't be necessary as I'll figure out myself while playing the repertoires). I have been wondering if he does so cos he's been considering my age with no possibility of being professional violinist and so why bother focusing on theories? On the other hand, I think I need those theories as my foundation to play, to actually understand the music.Tell me what to do. Or should I get the theory book and learn it by myself?

Note :Sorry if my English is not that good. ^^"

Replies (30)

November 28, 2012 at 08:01 PM · Hello, one can NOT underestimate how useful it is to learn theory and ear training lessons for music students.

It's a huge advantage.

It shows you how to think and solve problems by yourself and if you want to be a teacher one day (I saw this in one of your posts), you really need some music theory and ear training lessons.

Not only does it helps one to have a better ear, it shows you how the music is made, fundamental chords and progressions, how to arrange and transpose music for different instruments when you'll want to play with other musicians, to understand other musicians talking about modes minor, major, key signatures, differents clefs, composers and SO much more!

It is very similar to what students learn in music college and university.

The closest an amateur can be from a professional musician is by following playing but also theory/harmony, ear training and, if possible music history lessons.

It opens door to beeing a more complete musician who can solve his own problems easier and do more things with his music.

Well, I do know that all this takes time and money but it's my advice...