Vibrato

November 19, 2012 at 06:33 PM · Heyyy! As an amateur, I would always look up to those experts, and one particular technique caught my eye; vibrato. I have a lot of questions about vibrato and I would strongly appreciate responses.

Are there any easy ways to learn vibrato?

If so, how?

How can I practice vibrato?

What are some errors I should look forward to.

Lastly, how long will it take me to master vibrato?

I have an upcoming concert this December and would really love to try out vibrato.

Cheers!

-Gian ;D

Replies (23)

November 19, 2012 at 06:42 PM · People have very different rates at which they learn vibrato. My students are all over the map--some get it easily, some struggle for years. Much has to do with the desire to emulate and produce a certain kind of sound.

I probably teach it much like many others:

1. start in 3rd position, using wrist as a hinge against the instrument. Fingers are dragged backwards (pitch lowers from the note).

2. Number of repetitions is like weight lifting--don't just do any random number of reps, but deliberate, from fewer and slower to more and faster.

3. Practice different finger patterns in 3rd position (in other words, half-step between different fingers).

4. Practice carrying the motion between fingers.

If a student doesn't make progress with the wrist as the hinge, I go to an arm vibrato, which works much better for some.

Problems to watch out for:

-"Squeeze and shake"--you can't have tension in the hand. Maintain control.

-Fingers not rolling backwards in the direction of the strings, but across (kind of like a guitarist would do). This is less efficient

November 19, 2012 at 10:30 PM · Remember. Don't overdo vibrato. The music should come from the notes and from the bow. Vibrato is often used to hide poor intonation or bow control.

November 20, 2012 at 12:50 PM · Thanks Guys! :D