New recording of Paganini Caprices

November 5, 2012 at 03:50 AM · Hi!

I heard the most amazing recording of the Paganini caprices the other day. I've never written here before, just enjoyed reading all the posts. But I felt I had to tell you about this.

Here's what happened:

I'm in Sweden visiting my great aunt. The other night I went to a concert with the Royal Philharmonic. It was great show! After the concert I met some really nice people from the orchestra. They were all talking about a Swedish violinist who recorded all the caprices by Paganini this year. They wondered if I've heard of him. Which I had not! I wrote his name down and checked it out later. I was completely knocked of my feet! I have never heard someone play the caprices that clear and with such beauty. And the sound was incredible!

I don't think the recording is out yet, but you can listen to some caprices at the site. His name in Jan Stigmer and the address is www.janstigmer.com.

Check it out!

Ellen

Replies (20)

November 5, 2012 at 02:13 PM · That's some serious violin playing! The caprices used to be a favourite of mine but I can't

remember ever hearing this level of playing and interpretation before. No.1, 17 and 18 feels like I hear them for the first time! Can't wait to hear the hole CD. The sound is indeed incredible! I've never heard of Stigmer before this. Nice to hear of a completely new player!

Eric

November 7, 2012 at 04:37 PM · very interesting!

November 7, 2012 at 06:32 PM · This is very exiting! So strange to never hear of him before. If the hole cd has the same quality it is a great success. The way to play is so personal and on exeptional level. I am so happy to listen this!

Elisabeth

November 9, 2012 at 06:11 AM · His playing is superb. The recording seems to have a disproportionate amount of reverb which imho is unnecessary given his playing and detracts from the overall experience. Am I off base in this assessment?