My first soundpost adjustment!

October 30, 2012 at 04:05 AM · Hi All,

I'm an enthusiastic newbie who has already got my hands dirty with changing out strings, then messing around with lowering my bridge, trying to cut my own bridge (not yet successful--feet are about 90% a good fit, but not quite, so I am still using the stock bridge), installing kevlar tailgut, re-installing nylon tailgut due to the kevlar being a bit too harsh, trying to sleeve the kevlar (perhaps I'll detail that in another thread)....

Anyhow, just trying to say that I like to get my hands dirty and see what is what (I'm an engineer by trade). So, when the mailman delivered my new Yitamusic vunder-violin I got busy messing around with it. Threw on a set of Warchal Ametysts I had as a second set for my other violin. Those certainly were an upgrade of the stock Chinese spaghetti steel it came loaded with. Violin sounded pretty good, but definitely a bit abrasive and harsh...

I purchased this violin for a couple of reasons: firstly, to see how the Yitas were (pretty nice for what they are, actually quite nice...), secondly, I wanted to do some experimenting with sound posts and their adjustments, so a bargain violin was what was required. $241 delivered including a carbon bow. No tears would be shed if I made a total hash of things (OK, yes I'd still cry.....I'm not made of money here...)

I crafted a soundpost tool out of a fork: I ground away three out of the four tines, and modified the broad end into a pretty decent facsimile of a proper tool, sharpened the end, and custom bent it to suit my needs.

I removed the strings, bridge and endpin (removing the endpin gives you a great vantage point for seeing what's happening inside there as you guide the post in). It took me 4-5 tries to get it where I wanted, but eventually I was successful!