NYO Audition

October 4, 2012 at 02:18 AM · Hi, I'm a violinist from KY, and I want to audition for the national youth orchestra.

But before I put a lot of work into auditioning I want to know what chance I have of getting in. I really really want to get in but I'm not sure what I'm up against. I'm not a particularly good violinist but I work really hard and I play decently. I'm the concertmaster of my youth orchestra but it's not a very good youth orchestra. I'm also fifth chair second violin in a college orchestra nearby. I'm currently studying Zigeunerweisen, and the Hyden symphony 104.

I've already learned the Mozart violin concerto in g major. but I haven't learned a classical violin concerto yet.

I've played Rimsky korsakov's capriccio espagnol in my last concert and I've played the last movement of Beethoven's fifth symphony.

So, do I have a chance of getting in?

I love playing violin and it would be the most amazing thing to play in the NYO but I'd rather practice something else if I know I don't have much chance of getting in.

Thanks for any help.

Replies (20)

October 4, 2012 at 04:07 AM · Trying can't hurt.

October 4, 2012 at 07:21 AM · I have heard it said that it's not so much WHAT you play as HOW you play it.

Recalling my own ambition to enter the NYO of Great Britain, they allowed more than one audition attempt before they let me in. "If at first you don't succeed. try. try again" !!

October 4, 2012 at 12:41 PM · Well, if you don't start, you won't finish. Your list of repertoire is pretty varied and pretty advanced. How beautifully and expressively you play them is more important.

October 4, 2012 at 02:08 PM · Bethany, as Corwin said, "trying can't hurt." Besides, apart from repertoire (different for audition, I would guess) what would you lose by trying? You'd practice either way, pay the same concentration to your playing.

Learning to audition well is a great skill--necessary! Aim high, and enjoy the experience.