Violin cases

September 17, 2012 at 01:22 PM · I've been using a pretty cheap case from Shar for about two years. It's nearly falling apart and I don't quite trust the protection it gives - as a student I travel with my violin frequently and I need a reliable case.

I've decided to take the plunge and invest in a higher quality case (my parents have agreed to pay for half of it as my birthday present and I'll fork over the rest). Can anyone recommend a good case under $1000? I'm looking for one that's fairly lightweight and can be carried on my back.

I was looking at the Musafias and they seem like great, durable cases but I'm wondering if there's anything below that. I was also considering a BAM dart shaped case but I don't like the fact that it doesn't have a zip pocket to store music and whatnot.

Thanks!

Replies

September 17, 2012 at 03:44 PM · For the money Bobelock probably gives you the best bang for your buck. I wouldn't bother with a Musafia case, in a few years it will look beat up, in 10 you will be replacing it, same as the Bobelock.

September 17, 2012 at 03:52 PM · I agree with Raymond. I've got a Bobelock too. You know, it's nothing special to look at, it's just a damned violin case. But I do feel that my violin is very well protected, and it has the storage capacity that I need AND it's got the zip pocket that you want for your music. One thing is that if you want to put four bows in there, you've got to line them up a certain way. But once you figure that out it works fine.

Buy the less expensive case on your own and maybe you can take a rain check on your parent's willingness to go halfsies -- for when the extra money could make a big difference like a new bow.

September 17, 2012 at 06:13 PM · Samantha,