Violin or Academics?

September 12, 2012 at 01:24 AM · Hi everyone, I'm in 8th grade and I really love to play violin. I'm not a prodigy or anything, but people always mention that I'm very musical. My violin teacher's students all tell me that, and my teacher says I can express the music a lot better than her other students. I'm in Suzuki Book 8 and I'm playing DeBeriot's Concerto in A minor, Sicilienne and Rigaudon by Kreisler, and Mozart's Concerto No. 3 in G Major. I can practice 8 hours straight. I really love violin. I wish my future was violin. My teacher told me I could've been a prodigy if I'd started earlier.

My problem: My parents don't want violin in my future(Asian). They've put a lot of time and money into my academic education, and I'm pretty smart too. I took Pre-AP algebra 2 at the high school last year, in 7th grade, and got an overall 90 average, and my End-of-Course was a 96. My other talented and gifted classes were 100s. They want me to do something important in the future relating to academics. In particular, my mom wants me to be a surgeon. True, she say all of that "be what you want" stuff, but she means in the academic field, not music. What should I do???

Oh, and the explanation on my violin education:

I started in kindergarten and took lessons up to 2nd grade, when I'd finished book 2, and then joined my school orchestra and I still am in orchestra. I couldn't continue lessons until mid-6th grade, because of the economy. By then, my skills really went down. My new teacher had to re-teach me shifting, vibrato, how to hold my violin, etc. I had to start again in book 3.

So I'm in 8th grade, and I know I have a lot of time. But it's really been bothering me, because I love playing and practicing that much, and I want to do something with it. Minor degrees seem so... minor, and I don't know what my parents will say to a major. So...

Oh, and btw, idk if this matters, but I'm my school orchestra's concertmistress.