Fretless?

August 16, 2012 at 05:26 AM · This is a spin-off of the recent Vibrato/or not blog's subsequent discussion. I'm new to music theory and violin, but my understanding of fretted instruments is that they suffer from the same temperament constraints similar to a piano and that by removing the frets that you remove the compromising temperaments. Again, I'm new, so don't take this example literally, but the D in a C major scale will have a slightly different pitch than it has in a another scale. So, do the notes of diffferent scales have different pitches whether played on a guitar or a fiddle? Is this how it works or am I mistaken?

Replies (24)

August 16, 2012 at 09:45 AM · On a violin, play E (1st finger on the D-string) against the open G, and tune it till it is really smooth. Now play it against the open A and it is horribly discordant. Move the finger up 1/8" to blend with the the A: it now sound a bit harsh with G. Rhe difference is a comma!

The other advantage of being fretless is the tone obtained from the soft finger-tip.

August 16, 2012 at 11:11 AM · 'So, do the notes of diffferent scales have different pitches whether played on a guitar or a fiddle? '

I don't play guitar, so I don't know the answer.

On a violin, yes, different scale, you would play certain notes differently. Saying that, an out of tune note should not be blamed on that.

On a violin, the rule of thumb is to tune your notes to the open string notes that is available in your scale.

August 16, 2012 at 03:57 PM · In the OP example of a D note in the C scale, to be in perfect harmony they should be in a ratio of 9:8. Due to the compromise of splitting the octave into 12 even spaces, it's not quite... more like 8.98:8. So you might sharpen the D slightly if you are playing in the key of C. In other scales, a D might be high or low relative to the key note, in varying amounts.