Should I get another teacher?

July 31, 2012 at 05:57 PM · I texted my teacher on Sunday (I know what some might be thinking) and asked whether or not she thought I would be ready to audition for colleges next year. I got no reply yet, so I am guessing that this Friday (my lesson day) I will get my answer. But what if I do if she says she doesn't think I can?

Now I have been playing the violin for 6 years now and only in the last two years have I gotten really serious about it. I also only got a private teacher for the first time 7 months ago. Yes I know this already sounds like the answer is slim to none on me being ready for college auditions in a year, but I learn extremely fast and for the last year and a half I have been teaching myself and according to my private teacher, I have taught myself very well. I have also taught myself to play viola and cello so I know that I am capable of learning a lot in a short amount of time.

I myself know that I will be ready for college auditions in a year, even though it will be very tough to do so. I have made into the MYA orchestra and I am transferring to a school where the orchestra has won grammy's so I am prepared for hard work.

I guess my really question (after all this rambling) is should I get another teacher that believes in me more (if she does think I won't be ready)? Yes she has helped me grow exponentially in the last 7 months, and we have a really good connection, but would it be better to get another teacher that will believe that I can making it to the college process prepared and also help me fine tune myself?

Replies (28)

July 31, 2012 at 06:43 PM · Seems you know the answer already.

When I was studying, my teacher said I wasn't ready, and I ignored it because I was getting impatient.

I wasn't ready.

Strict teachers are always better. What does it help students if an "understanding" teacher doesn't confront them with the facts?