Modern violin makers (10-20k)

July 16, 2012 at 11:52 AM · I am a violin student in Australia after a handmade violin with warmth and a rich tone. Tone is my number one priority. My current price range is $12000-$20000, an would like to know of any contemporary makers who make nice violins within this price range, or a little higher. I have looked into curtain and alf, above my price range, Howard Needham (also 25000+) and kelvin Scott. I'd appreciate details of any other makers, or information/opinions on any of these makers including those which I've mentioned. I'm seriously considering Howard needham. I can travel to purchase - that is little concern.

Thank you !

Replies (65)

July 16, 2012 at 12:19 PM · About 3 years ago, I was looking in the same price range. I started a thread that might have some useful feedback for you.

Advice needed for buying a professional grade instrument