Live long and prosper

July 9, 2012 at 08:18 AM · I'm curious - are there any violinists out there who are accompished players that can not do a vulcan salute with their left hand?

I've a theory that this flexibility and control is established sometime during the journey. So far, I can't do it, but I've only been playing for a year.

Any ideas how long it took before you were able to do the salute?

Replies (34)

July 9, 2012 at 02:43 PM · As a Star Trek fan, I think this is a fun question, but I don't think it's correlated. Leonard Nimoy doesn't play the violin, does he?

FWIW, I never tried to do the Vulcan salute before around age 12, when I first discovered Star Trek reruns. By then, I found it easy to do right away, and I had been playing the violin for 5 years.

July 9, 2012 at 02:52 PM · It was either William Shatner or Leonard Nimoy who couldn't do the salute live on camera, but had to move his fingers into the correct configuration off-camera first. Sorry to disillusion you, folks!

The first time I saw it on TV I had no trouble in doing it myself, but I had been playing the cello since the age of 11.

July 9, 2012 at 09:20 PM · I did not know what a Vulcan salute was until I read this post and looked it up (apparently not a Star Trek fan)... I don't have problem doing it and I have been learning to play for 3 years. I doubt that playing the violin has helped...

July 9, 2012 at 09:28 PM · I did not know what it was either. I cannot do it. Should I give up the violin ?

July 9, 2012 at 09:28 PM · Perhaps this should be part of orchestral auditions :

'We loved your Paganini and the Sarasate was wonderful but your Vulcan salute is somewhat ill defined. '

July 9, 2012 at 10:15 PM · It was Shatner who couldn't do it (in Wrath of Khan), so his fingers had to be tied together with twine before the shot where he did the Vulcan Salute.