Vibrato

July 7, 2012 at 02:31 PM · Hello, I've been playing violin for two years and I've been trying to learn arm vibrato for like 9 months. I finally it the hang of it just two months ago but for some reason I can't detect a vibrato sound. I've recorded my playing and I just can't hear the vibrato too well. What could be wrong? Is my hand too tense?

Replies (70)

July 7, 2012 at 05:47 PM · Your vibrato is probably not wide.

Are you making sure the first knuckle (by your fingernail) is moving?

Try to control the speed and width and keep it constant, otherwise you'll end up with just a wobbling sound.

July 7, 2012 at 07:54 PM · My knuckle does move, but it's like restricted movement. For the past few days I've been practicing it slower and with a metronome so it's getting better.

July 7, 2012 at 08:11 PM · Make sure your hand is relaxed if you're having that problem, and that you aren't gripping too tightly.

It might also be that you're pushing down too hard if the movement of the knuckle is restricted. In that case, it would be something that you're doing, or maybe even your bridge is too high.

Lastly, I think it's most likely you just haven't developed enough flexibility in the knuckles yet. That's the likeliest scenario. Just keep practicing up in 4th position with the base of your thumb resting against the top of the violin, with a light hand, making sure the knuckle moves.

Practice with a metronome, starting at 60 with one movement per beat.

Then move up to one full oscillation per beat (back - forward), then 2 full movements per beat, then 3. then move onto the next one on the metronome. I think I heard that once you get 3 movements (full - back to forward) at 108 on the metronome is good.