So, am I too old?

July 3, 2012 at 11:25 PM · Hello!

So, I've been studying the violin for 2 years and a half now, I like the way it is going, i dont know if I am the most fast learner but, I love the instrument.

I am right now studying, Bach's violin concerto in A minor, Kreutzer no2, Sevcik 23 and 24 (2nd position), Laoureux, 3 octaves scales and arpeggios.

So, the problem here is, am I too old?

I've started when I was 19 years old! Now Im 22 already (turned 22 last month).

That is what that hold me back to fully give my self to the violin! I love it, but I always think i am too old, people say that I shouldnt think like that, there is still time, but.. cmon! Perlman played Mendelssohn's violin concerto when he was 13 right? lol

The thing is, am I too old to take violin as my profession? Can I hope one day play in one orchestra? I dont want to be a soloist.

Replies (34)

July 3, 2012 at 11:39 PM · You're never too old to start the violin, or even to continue it!

I didn't start as late as you, but still late (12 years old) and I've been playing almost as long as you have (a little under 2 years)

I as well want to play in an orchestra, or become a chamber musician, not a soloist.

Considering that you're playing Bach A Minor concerto (which is in Suzuki book 7 btw), you're probably progressing very quickly.

Maybe it's hard to become a soloist or make a living from the violin starting late in life, but there are a lot of adult starters out there that went on to play at very advanced levels.

July 3, 2012 at 11:46 PM · Most people who have experience would say it's unlikely you would be able to become advanced enough to play in a *major* orchestra--one that would let you have only the one job. BUT that doesn't mean you won't find an orchestra to play in--even make some money from.