Can the hard of hearing play the Violin?

June 28, 2012 at 09:48 PM · I have trouble hearing. Profound hearing loss I suppose you would call it. I have been wearing some pretty serious high powered aids for over 30 years & that does not solve it all by any stretch of the imagination. However, I have learned to survive pretty well so long as I don't run into folks that just can't seem to leave well enough alone. I have always wanted to learn to play the Violin & don't see why I could not learn to play. However, a supervisor at work who apparently is an accomplished musician (as he advises & who once owned a music store & provided lessons on varius instruments) told me that I would not ever be able to play the Violin since I was a deaf & dumb. His reasoning was that unlike the guitar that I play at which has frets, the Violin has no frets & therefore I would not be able to understand the sounds well enough to play without watching my fingers as they move along the frets that do not exist. However, I do not understand that because I do not watch my fingers when I play the guitar, piano, nor do I watch my tongue when I play the harp. Is there anyone out there who has heard of a hard of hearing person being able to learn to play the Vioin reasonably well?

Replies (30)

June 28, 2012 at 10:26 PM · John,